Private School Information
Private School Information
Private schools are nonpublic institutions, other than the child's home, where academic instruction is provided for at least the same number of days and hours each year as a public school.
Under Arizona law (ARS 15-161), private schools are free to operate as they see fit without the supervision of state or local education authorities.
However, private schools are required to meet certain guidelines regarding special education services and health & safety requirements.
If a child will attend a private school, the parent or person with custody of the child must file an affidavit of intent form with the County Superintendent of Schools registering that intent within 30 days from the time the child begins to attend a private school.
Private school registration requires a notarized Affidavit of Intent. Download the affidavit of intent.
An official certified copy of the child’s birth certificate or other reliable proof of the child’s identity and age shall also be filed in the county school superintendent’s office. (ARS §15-828.3.B). Photocopies of the original birth certificate are not acceptable.
The County Superintendent must also be notified within 30 days of the termination of private schooling. Download the withdrawal form. If private schooling is resumed, another affidavit of intent must be filed with the County Superintendent.
PRIVATE SCHOOLS LIST
For a list of private schools, click here.
PRIVATE SCHOOL FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
I received a letter from my student’s private school indicating the Maricopa County Education Service Agency does not have a Private School Affidavit of Intent on file for my child(ren), why do I have to do this?
According to Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) 15-802:
“Section C. An affidavit of intent shall be filed within thirty days from the time the child begins to attend a private school or home school and is not required thereafter unless the private school or the homeschool instruction is terminated, and then resumed. The person who has custody of the child shall notify the county school superintendent within thirty days of the termination that the child is no longer being instructed at a private school or a homeschool. If the private school or homeschool instruction is resumed, the person who has custody of the child shall file another affidavit of intent with the county school superintendent within thirty days.”
I have more than one child that attends the same private school, which children do you need the affidavit for?
An Affidavit of Intent to Private School form needs to be filed with the county school superintendent for each individual student from the ages of six to sixteen. If a child is over the age of sixteen years, a Private School Affidavit form is not required. If there are any questions, please contact the Homeschool/Private School liaison at 602-506-3144.
What is the reason why no students over the age of sixteen need to file an Affidavit of Intent to Private School?
According to Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) 15-802 states:
“Section A. Every child between the ages of six and sixteen years shall attend a school and shall be provided instruction in at least the subjects of reading, grammar, mathematics, social studies and science. The person who has custody of the child shall choose a public, private, charter or homeschool as defined in this section to provide instruction.”
Do I need to send a withdrawal form, if my student is just changing private schools?
Yes, if your student is changing private schools, a withdrawal form needs to be filed with the county school of superintendents. The County Superintendent must also be notified within 30 days of the termination of private schooling. If private schooling is resumed, another affidavit of intent must be filed with the County Superintendent.
Contact Homeschool and Private School Services:
firstname.lastname@example.org | 602-506-3866